More Hearty Fun!

Posted by

Greetings from Quilt Con! I am having fun with my friend Valerie down in Raleigh, North Carolina. She is here for a book signing and I am tagging along, enjoying the show and the “shopping”. As much as preach about shopping your stash, I broke all my rules yesterday.

I recieved a few pictures of quilts resulting from my Heartfelt Pattern that I have been waiting to share. This was sent to me from Sharyn, she was one of my first Etsy customers. She began sewing this in her RV while on vacation. She didn’t make it full size and she arranged the background fabrics in rounds surrounding the heart. It is an easy pattern to personalize.

This is some of what she wrote:

54″X62, as a cuddle quilt for my chair in our 5th Wheel RV. Quilted 1″ apart following the shape of the heart, with lovely Woolies raspberry flannel backing. Normally I would have ‘scrappied’ it but I started it on vacation so used new fabric I purchased in a little shop in Wells Nevada :).  I worked it like you designed it, never looking ahead at the next block, it was great good sewing fun on our vacation! My sewing space in the RV is to the right of the chair with a big window. Life is good.

Here it is on the couch in Sharyns RV. What a great way to travel and still do the things you love to do.

This next quilt is the first that I have seen made totally from batiks. Jymmi Kaye was the co-ordinator for the Heartfelt BOM for the Prairie Piecemakers Quilt Guild in Saskatchewan. I love her quilt and the wording she used around the border. She told me that she recieves many bits of batik fabric from quilting friends and this quilt was made entirely from stash.

If I remember correctly she has a husband who did the longarm quilting, – my thoughts are lucky to have a longarm and bonus points to have a husband that can be so helpful.

If you are working on a Heartfelt Quilt -please share your results, my readers love it and frankly so do I.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.