I am thankful!

Posted by

I wanted to share a little story with you. After all my knee trouble I got a cleaning lady, getting down on my hands and knees to clean under beds etc. was too painful. Along came Tanya from the Ukraine, she is. lovely lady just a bit older than me. We communicate via goggle translate and sometimes a lot of sign language. She is a crafter like me and was very impressed with the quilts that are going thru my studio. I started her on her first quilt which we finished just before Christmas.

A friend and fellow Majong always gives me her leftovers and stash when she clears out her studio. I usually give them to the guild for community quilts but this time I gave them to Tanya. I added a few more charm packs of my own that matched, and we made this Disappearing Nine Patch quilt. The guild provided a back as I didn’t have a piece big enough. I long armed it a few days before Christmas and sewed the binding on one side. A little more sign languge and Tanya will do the hand stitching on the binding. Here she is with her first quilt and dreams of making a few more before she goes home. We had a few communication problems but all in all, it is a beautiful quilt.

Which leads me to my post title of being thankful. Tanya doesn’t know if her house is still standing, yet she always comes with a smile and a helping hand. It breaks my heart! We are going to start a regular schedule this year, where she will have access to my tools and me looking over her shoulder.

You can help me in a few ways – I would like to collect some quilting supplies fabric, rotary cutter, blades, rulers and a matt, etc. to help her to be able to continue quilting when she goes home. None of these need to be new. If you speak Ukraine it would be great if I could get you to help translate my instructions. 

I know I can count on the quilting community for some help.

Happy Stitching. Sandy

3 comments

  1. Wonderful quilt. I’ll see if I can find some material. What a wonderful way to make Tanya’s time in Canada really memorable.

    Congratulations.

    Elizabeth

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.