Old Stash and a New Year

Posted by

Happy New Year! I am on a short vacation getting lots beach walks and playing lots of pickleball, I am thinking about what is in store for my stash in the coming year. I really enjoy and get a sense of pride thinking of new ways to use it up. Like many of you, I am starting to think I wil never use it up!

Just before Christmas, I challenged myself to make a smaller version of my Heartfelt Quilt entirely from these two containers of scraps plus some strips selected from my small bundles of colour. As you can see I do not have a sophisticated method of organization.

I dug into my low volume stash and used that for the background.

The reason for making this Mini Heartfelt Quilt was to test out a few ideas that were discussed in Zoom talks with my Heartfelt Quilt BOM participants. I wanted to see the results of not putting a border around the heart and I wanted to quilt it with a pantograph that went over the letters to see how that looked.

The other reason for making Mini Heartfelt was to offer something smaller to all the BOM participants who opened the pattern and thought OMG! There are so many blocks in this quilt, I am in over my head. This is an easy introduction to scrap quilts with multi sized blocks. All the blocks in this quilt can be made by a confident beginner.

I played around on EQ8 to get the layout, I wanted the quilt to fit into one width of fabric, I wasn’t totally successful with that, especially if you want to longarm it. First I made all the blocks for the heart and then I organized my low volume background squares putting the darker “low volumes” in the corners. 

I stitched all the units into sections, stitching again into larger sections, keeping the borders free for the lettering.

My daughter and my friend Val have been telling me to take videos and lots of shots so I can share tutorials of the process with you. As I was putting my phone into the stand for filming, I accidentally called 911 three times, I felt like such a fool, I decided that filming proceedures was not in my pay grade at this time. Here is what the finished quilt looks like.

I wish I had used a smaller font and been more careful about the spacing of the words but all in all, I love this and just need another grand baby to gift it to.

This mini quilt pattern can be purchased in my Etsy Shop. I always offer a 20% discount if you favorite it or put it in your basket.

Happy New Year to all, lets make 2024 a stashbusting year!                  Sandy

2 comments

  1. Love the original and now a baby size quilt option is also fantastic. Honestly, what a beautiful way to welcome a new baby. You’re so creative Sandy!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.