I am so proud!

Posted by

I am so proud of my friend and fellow quilter Valerie Prideaux. Over the years I have mentioned her name on my blog many times. She is my go to techie person and I am her longarm quilter. We have shared/borrowed fabrics, discussed many ideas for our crafty projects, helped each other with our EQ8 frustrations and worked on QuiltTalk. Basically, we have been cheering each other on for years!

I have not been able to post photos of her work for the last few years because she has been busy writing a book. It is finally available from C&T publishing and all the usual places, better yet ask your local quilt shop to order it in for you, you will not be dissapointed.

As I look thru my signed copy, I still can’t believe how many beautiful and creative quilts Valerie made from one shape. It was thrilling to be a part of her project and it was challenging to come up with different ways to quilt the quilts that I worked on knowing that they were going to be in a book.

Here are some pictures of my favorites! This one I went out and bought the fabric immediately LOL… that is saying a lot as I tend to go on and on about shopping your stash first.

This next one is worthy as a piece of wall art, I chuckle about Valerie coming to borrow fabric from me for this one as our stashes are quite different, — so different that she used the wrong side of most of the fabric she borrowed.

I loved seeing the fun that Valerie had digging into her own stash and how courageous she was in her colour choices.

I hope you will check out her book, I am sure that you will find a few quilts that you will want to make! Encourage your guild to have her give a presentation or a workshop.

The quilt in my featured image has just come off my machine – it is not in the book but it is copy of one in the book that looks comlpetely different – its all about the colour and fabric choices.

You can read all about Valerie and her acheivments in her latest blog post about careers in quilting. It can be found at https://cozyfunkycool.com/2023/11/15/accidental-book-author/

I had a great time cheering from the sidelines and wish Valerie great success as this book starts inspiring many other quilters.

3 comments

  1. Lovely quilts. Great book. Hopefully York Heritage Quilt Guild can have Valerie speak at the meeting and show all her quilts.

    Like

  2. How timely! I just spent this evening at Fabric Spark with Valerie showing her quilts and discussing her new book. The quilts are gorgeous and so inspiring, so I bought a signed copy of her book. I look forward to starting a quilt soon from Valerie’s new book. And your quilting Sandy was amazing too. Such a great team. 😍

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.