Snowballs in the Snow

Posted by

I decided to take advantage of the snow last weekend and take pictures of all my string snowball quilts in the fresh new snow. My idea was to make movies of all the quilts and do some sort of video called Snowballs in the Snow – catchy right?…… but I need to brush up on all my editing skills first. I will show you my two latest version of String Snowball quilts. I blogged about them last fall as I was struggling to arrange and quilt them. Part One , Part two , Part Three. They are finally bound and ready to share. I know you have to look twice to see that they are different quilts, I am second guessing myself and thinking I could have made one large quilt and did the opposite version of blocks in the border.

Here is the close-up beside each full size quilt. It didn’t take me long to figure out which layout and design I liked the best. In the first set of pictures the solid seems to give the quilt a 3 D effect and I really like that look.

I hope you got a good look at the quilting on both quilts, originally I thought I would quilt a grid with meduim/dark grey thread, but it looked awful when I auditioned the thread across the quilt top! The diagonal wishbones took a lot more care and attention, horizontal and vertical wishbones is almost mindless. Have you ever wondered how many different threads I use in custom quilting? There are 29 different colores used in these 2 quilts.

My daughter keeps reminding me that I have to take more pictures for my social media, that is painful for me , I am definately not a photographer or a social media person, I am just a quilter that feels guilty about her stash and impact on the world. It takes me a lot of time to take pictures – time that I could use to sew a few more blocks.

I have been playing around on EQ8 and have many more design ideas, I have been playing with different co-ordinating blocks and will soon have more quilts to share. The possibilities are endless!

There is a beautiful quilt waiting to be made from your stash! If you want to make this quilt, the pattern and templates are availble in my Etsy shop.

One comment

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.