Expanding your skills.

Judy recently brought this quilt to my studio for some wavy line quilting. She got the pattern for it  in a book by Mary Elizabeth Kinch and Biz Storms, two quilt designers in Toronto.  Judy used a lot of old stash and modernized it with this layout. She wanted the quilting  lines to be random just like the sample in the book. Believe it or not, I found it challenging to be random because in the past I have tried to have my waves be  more  or less uniform.  It was fun looking at all the fabrics, many that have passed thru my studio and stash.

IMG_0298

IMG_0299

 

Anne took a curves workshop with Berene of  Happy Sew Lucky and the quilt below is the  result of her efforts.   Anne is a relatively new quilter so she is benefiting from the guidance of the weekly get-togethers in Berene’s home.  This drunkards path block was sewn without using any special sewing feet, amazing for a beginner.  The prints  remind me of delft blue china from Holland.  We added even more flowers to the quilt  with a daisy pantograph.

IMG_0294

The back is just plain fun.

IMG_0296

Great work  ladies, I love helping you get your projects finished.

2 responses to “Expanding your skills.

  1. I think I’ll have to do up one of my own quilts with random waves. If clients could see one done up, they may choose it for their own quilts 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

