Grab a Cup and Catchup #2

This blog  will be picture heavy in my attempt to get up to date.  Wendy; a long time friend has the largest collection of novelty fabrics of anyone I know.  She makes hats for doctors and sells them at the hospital where she works.  All the leftovers find a home in “I Spy” quilts that she makes for her  many grand nieces and nephews.

dsc05267

These are just a few of the fun fabrics I get to look at when I am quilting for Wendy.

 

Elizabeth made this “Glorious  Kaffe” quilt for her daughter in law, lucky girl!  She ordered her fabric from a shop named  Tennessee Quilts   down in.. you guessed it Tennessee.  They made a few substitutions from the original quilt and shipped it up to her.  Now that’s service!  I love the way the bits of black background sprinkled throughout the quilt make the other colours pop even more.

dsc05280

I love it when my customers use the extra blocks in the back of the quilt, getting more bang for their buck. This quilt had a strip of extra blocks running the  length of the back. We choose an edge to edge pantograph called camellias which always works well on Kaffe fabrics.

 

Kathy made this beautiful quilt from scraps for her sisters friend.  I want to say a few things,  that is a LOT of scraps and a very GENEROUS  undertaking.  This quilts got a lot of “wows” at out recent guild meeting.

dsc05339

Take a close look at the variety of scraps, they work so well because of value.  We choose a swirly edge to edge to finish it off nicely.

dsc05340

 

I met Lucy years ago when I taught a log cabin class at  Sew Sisters.  I love the way Lucy combines the  fabrics in all of her quilts and this one is no exception. Lucy made this beautiful quilt for her daughter. It is a  medallion quilt made with various stars and log cabin blocks and a pieced border with lots of little four patches.

dsc05344

We choose an allover swirly pantograph, which looks great, especially in the cream background.

 

If I have said it once I will say it again, quilters are the most generous people! Four quilts and all of them gifts for someone else…. amazing!  I love helping these quilts get to their final destination.

 

2 responses to “Grab a Cup and Catchup #2

  1. I didn’t take a pic of this one. Thanks!!

    W

    On 20 November 2016 at 16:27, Scrappy Gal Quilt Co wrote:

    > Sandy posted: “This blog will be picture heavy in my attempt to get up to > date. Wendy; a long time friend has the largest collection of novelty > fabrics of anyone I know. She makes hats for doctors and sells them at the > hospital where she works. All the leftovers fin” >

    Like

  2. Such beautiful scrappy quilts….my favourite! I love the maple leaf one, as well, and also thought, “wow”! I’ve never seen that pattern before.

    Like

Leave a Reply

