Primitive Log Cabin Workshop

Last spring I taught my primitive log cabin workshop to the Moraine Quilt Guild up in Newmarket.  This quilt is easy enough for beginners and a great stash buster for the more experienced quilter.  It is made with improvisation piecing on a flannel foundation, the flannel becomes the batting.  The workshop was sold out and a lot of fun.  Lately I updated my sample by doing a low volume version of the quilt. This is a picture of it hanging at Quilts at the Creek this past July. It is hand quilted with big stitches and pearl cotton.

DSC05144

 

The older version is made with a lot of homespun and a few plaid shirts  that I pinched from my ex’s closet. This is  great manly quilt.
primitive log sized

The Moraine Guild meets up in a church in downtown Newmarket.  I am starting to feel like quilting must be  next to Godliness, so many guilds meet in churches.  Look at all those heads bent over their work, it looks like they are on a mission.

DSC05046

We had different levels of organization!

Quilters are the original recyclers, from bedskirts to husbands shirts these quilts have a bit of everything.

Everyone worked in their desired colour pallet, from low volume to bright. I especially had a chuckle when one quilter’s blocks matched with her outfit.   When Kathy Doughty gave a trunk show and lecture  in Toronto this summer and she said about her customers “I see you in your little turquoise top with your  little matching purse going over to the turquoise shelve to purchase your favourite colour  I immediately thought about that when I posted this particular photo and had  laugh just remembering.

To all the ladies up in Newmarket, I hope your quilts are almost finished. I really enjoyed the time I spent with you.

 

One response to “Primitive Log Cabin Workshop

  1. We enjoyed having you at our Guild, Sandy, both as a guest speaker and workshop teacher. Laughter and inspiration are guaranteed with you! A few of the members have brought in their finished primitive log cabin quilts this fall for show & tell. Hope to see you again soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

