Sew and Show

I am in charge of show and share for  York Heritage Quilters Guild and I cannot emphasize how  important it is to show your quilts at meetings or hang your quilts at shows.   Hopefully by sharing your passion you will  encourage  other  potential quilters to show their  quilts and promote the art of quilting.   I have been on a mission to  use or  get rid of my excess in order for a future downsize.  There is nothing like having to sort thru a parent’s possessions to realize that we have too much stuff.  I pledged to finish up something from the past in order to start something new.  The following are quilts that I finished in the last year, mostly from stash, or from UFO boxes.  I had these quilts hanging at Quilts at the Creek this past July.
DSC05236

This quilt was the result of a “Buck a Block” program at  Sew Sisters many years ago.  I changed it up quite a bit from the original  design by using every bit of the fabric provided and adding pinwheel blocks and a small border.  I practiced a little modern quilting on it just to get an idea of the time required.

DSC05228

This quilt is the result my stitching group challenge  a few years ago, it is a design by Becky Goldsmith of Piece of Cake Designs.  Pictures of the other quilts that resulted from this challenge can be found in the archives  in the  Quilts at the Creek   blog , summer of 2014.   I would like to say that mine is  late because I was busy quilting everyone else’s quilts.  If the truth was told, it would be that sometimes life gets in the way of my best intentions.  I am actually happy I waited so long for several reasons, one is I found this great border fabric and the idea for quilting this had not come to me until recently.

DSC05130

This manly quilt top was finished many years ago waiting for me to decide what I would do with the connecting block.  I was considering taking the top apart and making the connecting block a square in a square, but after doing a lot of frogging on the circle quilt above I decided to just get it done.  I used a cotton /wool batting and love the way it shows the quilting.

DSC05144

I broke my self made “rules” with this quilt and bought fabric to start something new.  I saw a beautiful fabric on one of my customers quilts that I just had to have, and  Daryl  came to the rescue by actually pulling out of  a scrap bag for me.   Another friend, Shirley cut strips of grey and beige neutrals and sold them to me so I would have more variety.  This quilt is my modern version of “Primitive Log Cabin”, a workshop that I give.  It is made on a flannel foundation which then becomes the batting.

DSC05174

This last quilt is one I made many years ago and it was slotted to be given away, but after seeing it hanging in the breeze I might have to re-think that decision.

The more quilts I see, the more ideas I get for other quilts, does that happen to you?

Leave a Reply

