Quilts at the Creek Workshops

Gail took a workshop with  Amy Garrow  last summer at  Quilts at the Creek . It has been a long time in the making  but Gail persevered and brought this very modern quilt to my studio  a few months ago.  This quilt “Icy Waters”  can be found in Amy’s book about modern paper piecing.    I am sorry I do not have a full frontal picture of it.  Note to self; don’t rush the photography. This quilt was custom quilted with a lot of ruler work radiating out in the fractured ice.

DSC04955

As I moved down the quilt and the  “ice ” broke up I started to add swirls in the lighter shades of blue.

Eventually as I got to the bottom of the quilt  I shadow quilted lines of “ice” duplicating  parts of the original block.  If I understood correctly this quilt was made entirely with one block and different placement of  the fabrics.  I found it stressful trying to think of what exactly to do but I loved the result  in the end.  Hopefully Gail will hang it in Quilts at the creek this summer.

Check out the workshops we have scheduled this summer  with Kathy Doughty.

 

Leave a Reply

