Amish Block of the Month

Sandy brought me this beautiful amish quilt that was the result of a block of the month held by Sew Sisters quilt shop in Toronto.  It is so big I really didn’t have a place to hang it thus my pictures only show portions of it.

DSC04868

I sometimes struggle with picking a thread colour when a quilt  with a high contrast in colour comes into my studio.  This is something quilters often don’t consider when they pick borders or backs for their quilts.  For this quilt Sandy and I picked a beautiful grey  “So Fine” thread by Superior Threads, it blended in nicely across the entire quilt.  We used a pantograph called “inside out”, one of my new favourites.

DSC04870

 

I really must catch up on my blogging and post right away because my memory doesn’t serve me well.  I believe Sandy told me that this quilt is on its way to a nephew in Scotland.

 

5 responses to “Amish Block of the Month

  1. Hi Sandy , it’s Petra I can’t believe I got on your blog .It took me as long as it takes you to do a quilt. Great job on all and everything your doing .

    Like

Leave a Reply

