Tumbling Logs

This fabulous quilt had been on my bucket list ever since I taught a Log Cabin 101 class at Sew Sisters a few years back.  Finally, the opportunity to make it came when Quilts at the Creek  asked for log cabin quilts to make a display of how versatile the log cabin pattern is. Here it is hanging outdoors in front of a rail fence at Quilts at the Creek  2014.

Black Creek 2014 - 18

 

DSC04747I just finished writing the pattern instructions and I will be teaching it this spring for the Hamilton Quilt Guild. Writing the instructions  was a feat in itself, as it is the first pattern that I managed to make totally by computer. Even the staff at the Apple Store know how to quilt now, I was back and forth so many times to learn the things I needed to know.   Hanging on my garage door, I managed to get it a little straighter for the pictures.

This quilt is paper pieced with lots of “Y” seams; tedious but well with the effort. The quilting is all stitch in the ditch.  The look of the tumbling blocks is achieved thru the colour value of the fabrics.

Leave a Reply

