Monsters!

Happy New Year Everyone!

I decided to start the year with a  beautiful quilt that left my studio a few days ago. Laurel (I love her name because I grew up in a village called Laurel) made this quilt for her lucky grandson.  I hope he will grow to appreciate the time and effort that she put into it.  I had a lot of fun quilting this quilt as  each monster brought a smile to my face.

DSC04782

My pictures do not do the quilt justice.  The workmanship was impeccable.  I showed it to several friends that dropped by my studio and everyone wanted to know the secret of Laurel’s machine appliqué. Every monster was perfectly appliquéd, I outlined every bit of it so I had  close-up look. The monsters teeth were made from two layers stitched and turned  right side out into perfect little teeth.

DSC04783

I outlined and echo quilted each monster and added  a little meander in the bodies of the fat monsters.  The one below is my favourite monster, maybe because it  seems to have a sassy attitude.

DSC04784

DSC04785

DSC04789

DSC04787

Some  ruler work in the borders to complete the quilt!  The pictures do not show the quilting, but there is lots of that back and forth quilting into a sort of flying geese pattern that I stitched using the half square triangles as a guideline.  It shows a little more in the first picture of this post.

DSC04786

DSC04788

 

Leave a Reply

