Make it Modern

“Everything old is New Again”

I am in charge of “Display and Competition” at York Heritage Quilt Guild  in Toronto  http://yhqg.org. As part of my portfolio  I have to develop  challenges for  guild members.  The great thing about being in charge of things is you get to choose the topics that are relevant to you.

I chose the theme “Make it Modern”; the idea being that you must take your old fabric stash and give it a modern look.  This appealed  to me for several reasons, I have a lot of old stash that I cannot bear to give away and I am in a dilemma because I am really starting to love  modern quilts

DSC04547

I am proud to say I won a “Viewers Choice for my quilt and this is a  photo of it hanging  at Quilts at the Creek this past July. https://quiltsatthecreek.wordpress.com

DSC04387

This quilt is made entirely of old stash even the white background. It is the  background and the quilting that gives the old fabric a new modern look.

One response to “Make it Modern

  1. I love your “Make it Modern”, Everything old is new again Quilt! Do you have a pattern of it for sale? While I took some close up photos of it at the Region of York Quilters Guild show, i am curious what size your triangles are. I am thinking it would go together like a ” One Block Wonder” quilt ( i have made several of those!) the triangles sewn together in a row by row fashion. It was just after I got home that I realized this would be the perfect pattern for my son & daughter in law’s quilt for their new home. Really enjoyed your trunk show & talk at our Guild.
    Thanks.
    Carole ( from PEI)

    Like

Leave a Reply

